16 New Musicals Receive Grants from NAMT

News   16 New Musicals Receive Grants from NAMT
Among the recipients are works by Stephen Trask, Dick Scanlan, The Bengsons, and Carmel Dean.
Stephen Trask
Stephen Trask Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Through its National Fund for New Musicals, the National Alliance for Musical Theatre (NAMT) has awarded grants to 16 theatres and artists for the development of new musicals. Among the recipients are new works by Hedwig and the Angry Inch composer and lyricist Stephen Trask and Thoroughly Modern Millie book writer Dick Scanlan, as well as Off-Broadway theatres Ars Nova, Atlantic Theater Company, and Transport Group.

Now in its ninth year, the fund is NAMT’s major funding program in support of not-for-profit theatres and their collaborations with writers to create, develop, and produce new musicals. The grants total $53,000.

See the lists of recipients and their projects below:

National Fund grants of $5,000 to $8,000 to support full productions have been awarded to:

Ars Nova for The Lucky Ones by Abigail Nessen Bengson, Shaun Bengson, and Sarah Gancher with funding from The Hollywood Pantages, a Nederlander organization.
Diversionary Theatre Productions for The Loneliest Girl in the World by Julia Meinwald and Gordon Leary.
Goodspeed Musicals for Darling Grenadine by Daniel Zaitchik with funding from The Hollywood Pantages, a Nederlander organization.
Lyric Theatre of Oklahoma for When We're Gone (aka Mortality Play) by Scotty Arnold and Alana Jacoby with funding from The ASCAP Foundation Irving Caesar Fund.
TheatreWorks Silicon Valley for The Four Immigrants: An American Musical Manga by Min Kahng.

National Fund grants of $2,000 to $5,000 to support a workshop or reading have been awarded to:

Atlantic Theater Company for This Ain't No Disco by Stephen Trask, Peter Yanowitz, and Rick Elice.
Chicago Shakespeare Theater for Bedknobs & Broomsticks by Neil Bartram and Brian Hill, based upon the Walt Disney animated film.
The Lark for Sweethearts of Swing by Natalie Wilson and Kat Sherrell with funding from The Alhadeff Charitable Foundation.
Transport Group Theatre Company for The Untitled Millay Project by Dick Scanlan and Carmel Dean.

Additionally, the National Fund for New Musicals has awarded each of the following member organizations $500 to $1,000 for Writers Residency Grants:

The 5th Avenue Theatre for Intermission! by Jerry Zucker, Michael Weiner, and Alan Zachary.
The American Music Theatre Project at Northwestern University for Michael Collins by Ryan Cunningham and Joshua Salzman.
Ars Nova for The Lucky Ones by Abigail Nessen Bengson, Shaun Bengson, and Sarah Gancher.
Artpark and Company for Elephant in the Room by Jean Marie Keevins and Sahr Ngaujah.
Diversionary Theatre Productions for Run Away Home by Charlie Sohne and Tim Rosser.
New York Theatre Barn for Eastbound by Cheeyang Ng and Khiyon Hursey.
Village Theatre for an untitled project by Justin Huertas, Kirsten deLohr Helland, and Sara Porkalob.

NAMT’s 29th annual Festival of New Musicals, the industry-only event which showcases new works for theatre producers from around the world, will take place October 19–20 at New World Stages in New York. For more information visit NAMT.org.


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!