2004 Back Stage Bistro Awards Announced; Lemper, Rudetsky and Marcovicci Among Winners

News   2004 Back Stage Bistro Awards Announced; Lemper, Rudetsky and Marcovicci Among Winners
The 2004 Back Stage Magazine Bistro Award winners have just been announced.
Ute Lemper
Ute Lemper

Created in 1985 by the late cabaret columnist Bob Harrington, this year’s winners were chosen by two Back Stage critics, David Finkle and John Hoglund. Those receiving 2004 Bistros will be celebrated at a private party hosted by the famed industry magazine.

A one-time honor, those who win Bistro Awards in a category are no longer eligible for awards in that particular category in subsequent years. About the awards, Sherry Eaker, editor-in-chief of Back Stage, wrote last year, “The object is not to choose the ‘best’ anything-of-the-year, but to recognize and congratulate the accomplishments of those who have done something special during the year”

The complete list of 2004 winners follows:

Vocalist: Bobby Belfry (The Duplex), Stevie Holland (Danny's Skylight Room), Carolyn Montgomery (The Theatre at St. Clement's Church).

Debut: Nancy Anderson (Don't Tell Mama), Jamie Cullum (The Algonquin), Steven Ray Watkins (Mama Rose's) Major Engagement: Ute Lemper (Joe's Pub)

Major Jazz Engagement: Stacey Kent & Jim Tomlinson (The Algonquin)

Major Jazz Duo: Sandy Stewart & Bill Charlap (The Algonquin)

Musical Comedy: Tom D'Angora in ''Divas I've Done'' (Don't Tell Mama), Brett Somers (Danny's Skylight Room)

Special Production: Eric Pickering in ''Ode to Attention Seekers" (The Duplex)

Songwriter/Special Material: Ray Jessel (Don't Tell Mama)

Musical Director: Tedd Firth

Director: Erv Raible

Technical Director: Thomas Honeck (The Duplex)

Impersonator: Chuck Sweeney in ''Miss Peggy Lee'' (Don't Tell Mama)

Piano Bar: Darius Frowner (The Duplex)

Recording: Tom Andersen, ''Who Knows?''; Marieann Meringolo, ''Imagine ... If We Only Have Love''; Rebecca Spencer, ''Wide Awake and Dreaming''

Special Awards:

Wally Harper: For consistent and inspired excellence as an arranger and musical director in cabaret and concerts

David Kenney: For 25 years of excellence and support of the cabaret community as host of ''Everything Old Is New Again'' on WBAI-FM

Seth Rudetsky: For ''Broadway Chatterbox'' series to benefit Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS, now in its 5th year

Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award: Ruben Flores (Danny's Skylight Room)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Andrea Marcovicci

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!