74th Annual Drama League Awards Set for May 16; Fierstein to Host

News   74th Annual Drama League Awards Set for May 16; Fierstein to Host
Tony Award winner Harvey Fierstein, who will return to Broadway at the end of the month in A Catered Affair, will host the 74th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon, which will be held May 16 at noon at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Times Square.


Bobby Cannavale (Mauritius), Cheyenne Jackson (Xanadu), S. Epatha Merkerson (Come Back, Little Sheba), Rosie Perez (The Ritz), Martha Plimpton (Cymbeline) and Patrick Stewart (Macbeth) are the first performers to be named as honorary co-chairs for the annual event.

The Drama League Awards, according to press notes, "pay tribute to the season's best performers by including the nominees of The Distinguished Performance Award on a dais." Approximately 60 stars from the 2007-08 Broadway and Off-Broadway season, including the honorary co-chairs, will be honored.

The Drama League also presents four other awards: Distinguished Production of a Play, Distinguished Production of a Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Play and Distinguished Revival of a Musical.

Nominations will be announced April 22.

Tickets for the 74th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony are now available by calling (212) 244-9494 ext. 5 or by visiting www.DramaLeague.org.


Founded in 1916, the Drama League is an association of theatre professionals and patrons dedicated to "encouraging the finest in professional theatre and has since then developed into the theatre’s premiere service organization."

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!