A&E Explores Judy Garland's Demons in March 23 Bio

News   A&E Explores Judy Garland's Demons in March 23 Bio
 
The Arts & Entertainment cable TV network will debut its video biography, "Judy Garland: Beyond the Rainbow," at 8 PM (ET), 5 PM (PT) March 23. Check local listings for times elsewhere.

The Arts & Entertainment cable TV network will debut its video biography, "Judy Garland: Beyond the Rainbow," at 8 PM (ET), 5 PM (PT) March 23. Check local listings for times elsewhere.

Produced by Peter Jones Productions and hosted by Peter Graves, the special promises to take an unflinching look at the performances that made her great (in The Wizard of Oz, Meet Me in St. Louis and on Broadway at the Palace) as well as the demons that brought her down.

The special includes 43 new interviews with eyewitnesses, colleagues and friends including, Mickey Rooney, June Allyson, Jackie Cooper, Betty Comden and Adolph Green, plus rare archival footage of Garland onstage, home movies and interviews with her children, Liza Minnelli and Lorna Luft.

Among questions explored in the special: How did Garland become addicted to benzedrine and Seconal? Was her own father gay? What original verse to "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas" did she protest? Why was her marriage to Vincente Minnelli fail?

The program will be repeateed at midnight (ET), 9 PM (PT) March 23, and again March 25 at 8 PM and midnight (ET), 5 and 9 PM (PT). By Robert Viagas

Today’s Most Popular News: