"A Little Night Music" Film Soundtrack Released on Disc for First Time Aug. 13

News   "A Little Night Music" Film Soundtrack Released on Disc for First Time Aug. 13
The soundtrack for the 1978 film adaptation of "A Little Night Music," featuring Elizabeth Taylor, Len Cariou and Diana Rigg, is released Aug. 13 on CD for the first time by Masterworks Broadway.

The remastered recording of "A Little Night Music" – transferred from the original stereo masters – includes the film version of "The Glamorous Life," previously unreleased instrumental cues and the complete version of "Every Day A Little Death," which is lifted from the mono soundtrack. The carriage ride verse, written specifically for the film, was not included on the stereo master.

The film cast includes Taylor as Desiree Armfeldt, Cariou as Frederick Egerman, Rigg as Charlotte and Hermione Gingold as Madame Armfeldt. Harold Prince, who helmed the stage version, also directed the film.

The album has liner notes by "Night Music" composer-lyricist Stephen Sondheim and archivist Peter E. Jones. 

It is exclusively available from Sony Masterworks. The CD will be available through Arkiv Music on Sept. 10, plus downloads through digital service providers the same day. Click here to purchase the album. 

Visit MasterworksBroadway.com.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!