Anika Noni Rose Joins Nov. 8 Lynn Nottage Celebration at Steinberg Award Ceremony

News   Anika Noni Rose Joins Nov. 8 Lynn Nottage Celebration at Steinberg Award Ceremony
Tony Award winner Anika Noni Rose will be among performers reading scenes from the work of playwright Lynn Nottage when Nottage is honored with the 2010 Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award Nov. 8 at Lincoln Center's Vivian Beaumont Theater.

Anika Noni Rose
Anika Noni Rose Photo by Andrew Macpherson

Rose (Caroline, or Change; Cat on a Hot Tin Roof; "For Colored Girls"; "The Princess and the Frog") will join the previously announced Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Viola Davis, Kimberly Hébert Gregory, Russell Hornsby and Condola Rashad in reading scenes from plays including Ruined, Intimate Apparel and a preview of Nottage's upcoming play, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark.

Nottage received the Pulitzer Prize for Ruined. In addition to Intimate Apparel, the Obie Award winner's other plays include Fabulation and Crumbs From the Table of Joy.

The Steinberg Award is presented biennially by The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust. (The award is also known as the "Mimi" Award.) Tony Kushner received the award in 2008. The award "honors the artistic achievement of an American playwright whose body of work has made significant contributions to the American theatre," according to the Trust. It comes with a cash prize of $200,000, making it the largest award ever created to honor and encourage artistic achievement in the American theatre.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!