Artios Presenters to Include Jeffrey Wright, Zachary Quinto, Christina Ricci, Viola Davis

News   Artios Presenters to Include Jeffrey Wright, Zachary Quinto, Christina Ricci, Viola Davis
Tony Award-winning actor Jeffrey Wright will present Tony and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Tony Kushner with the New York Apple Award at the 2010 Artios Awards in Manhattan.

Wright, who earned a Tony Award for his performance in the original Broadway production of Angels in America: Perestroika, will be on hand to present Kushner with the honor at the New York component of the Artios Awards Nov. 1.

Others receiving special recognition that evening are Marcy Carsey ("The Cosby Show," "Roseanne"), who will be presented with the Career Achievement Award; and Ellen Chenoweth ("Terms of Endearment," "Good Night & Good Luck"), who will be honored with the Hoyt Bowers Award.

New York presenters will also include David Duchovny, Charles Kimbrough, Jim Gaffigan,Carla Gugino, John Benjamin Hickey, Anthony Mackie, Aasif Mandvi, Elizabeth Marvel, Zachary Quinto, Christina Ricci and John Slattery.

Held simultaneously in New York and Los Angeles, the Artios Awards recognize outstanding achievement in casting on stage and film. Lily Tomlin has been announced to host the Los Angeles event.

Los Angeles presenters will include Ty Burrell, Viola Davis, Victoria Justice, Diane Lane, John Lithgow, Joe Manganiello and Vanessa Williams. The 2010 theatrical Artios nominees follow:

Los Angeles Theatre
Forgiveness, Liz Dean
Guys and Dolls, Margery Simkin & Michael Donovan
How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, Amy Lieberman
The Pee Wee Herman Show, Bruce H. Newberg
Why Torture is Wrong and The People Who Love Them, Scott David

Broadway Theatre – Drama
A View From the Bridge, Cindy Tolan
Enron, Bernard Telsey
Fences, Mele Nagler & David Caparelliotis
Next Fall, Howie Cherpakov
Race, Will Cantler & Bernard Telsey
Time Stands Still, Nancy Piccione

NY Broadway Theatre – Comedy
A Behanding in Spokane, Jim Carnahan
Brighton Beach Memoirs, Jay Binder & Jack Bowdan
The Royal Family, David Caparelliotis
Lend Me A Tenor, David Caparelliotis & Mele Nagler
In The Next Room Or The Vibrator Play, Daniel Swee

NY Broadway Theatre – Musical
A Little Night Music, Tara Rubin, Eric Woodall, Laura Schtuzel & Merri Sugarman
The Addams Family, Bernard Telsey
Fela!, Arnold J. Mugioli
American Idiot, Jim Carnahan & Carrie Gardner
Promises, Promises, Merri Sugarman, Eric Woodall, Laura Schtuzel, & Tara Rubin

NY Off-Broadway – Comedy/Musical
Circle Mirror Transformation, Alaine Alldaffer
Clybourne Park, Allaine Alldaffer
The Scottsboro Boys, Jim Carnahan
Graceland, Daniel Swee
Love Loss and What I Wore, Tara Rubin, Merri Sugarman, Eric Woodall, & Laura Schtuzel

NY Off-Broadway – Drama
A Lie of The Mind, Judy Henderson
The Bridge Project, Nancy Piccione
Family Week, Will Cantler & Bernard Telsey
The Pride, Bernard Telsey & Will Cantler
Still Life, Will Cantler & Bernard Telsey

Regional Theatre East
A Doll’s House, James Calleri
Compulsion, Tara Rubin, Laura Schutzel, Eric Woodall, & Merri Sugarman
Fences, Alaine Alldaffer
Fetch Clay Make Man, Laura Stanczyk
Three Sisters, Will Cantler, Tiffany Little Canfield & Bernard Telsey

Regional Theatre West
The 39 Steps, Jay Binder & Jack Bowdan
Creditors, Will Cantler & Bernard Telsey
Lost in Yonkers, Samantha Barrie
The Night is a Child, Michael Donovan
Parade, Erika Sellin
The Wake, Bonnie Grisan & Erika Sellin

The 26th annual Artios Awards will be held in Manhattan at the American Airlines Theatre (5:30 PM ET) and in Los Angeles at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel (5:45 PM PT). Ticket information is available by phoning (212) 868-1260.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!