ASCAP to Honor Shirley Horn, Mary Lou Williams, Thad Jones

Classic Arts News   ASCAP to Honor Shirley Horn, Mary Lou Williams, Thad Jones
The American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP) will add seven jazz greats to the Jazz Wall of Fame in its New York offices today.

The inductees include composer and arranger Neal Hefti, vocalist and pianist Shirley Horn, and guitarist Bucky Pizzarelli. Trumpeter Thad Jones, trombonist Jack Teagarden, violinist Joe Venuti, and pianist Mary Lou Williams will be inducted posthumously.

Among the musicians on hand will be pianist Billy Taylor, writer and composer James McBride, bassist Rufus Reid, pianist Hilton Ruiz, and guitarist John Pizzarelli, Bucky Pizzarelli's son.

At the ceremony ASCAP will also present its ASCAP Foundation Jazz Vanguard Award to pianist Matthew Shipp and its Young Jazz Composer Awards to 24 musicians below the age of 30. Reid, saxophonist Frank Foster, and trombonist John Fedchock were the judges for the latter competition.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!