Audra McDonald, Daryl Roth, Oskar Eustis, and More Inducted Into Theater Hall of Fame

Industry News   Audra McDonald, Daryl Roth, Oskar Eustis, and More Inducted Into Theater Hall of Fame
The class of 2017 also includes Marin Mazzie and Matthew Broderick, playwrights Arthur Kopit and Tina Howe, and theatre critic Ernie Schier.
Oskar Eustis, Daryl Roth, Marin Mazzie, Arthur Kopit, Tina Howe, and Matthew Broderick Aubrey Reuben

On November 13, the 47th Annual Theater Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony took place at Broadway’s Gershwin Theatre, the lobby of which hosts the Hall of Fame.

No different from any prior year, the class of 2017 welcomes theatre greats from multiple disciplines. This year actors Audra McDonald, Marin Mazzie, and Matthew Broderick; playwrights Arthur Kopit and Tina Howe; director Oskar Eustis; producer Daryl Roth; and, posthumously, theatre critic Ernie Schier were inducted in recognition of their contributions and accomplishments in theatre. Five-time Tony winner Susan Stroman led as MC.

Founded in 1970 by James M. Nederlander, Earl Blackwell, and Gerard Oestricher, the Theater Hall of Fame annually salutes Lifetime Achievement in the American Theatre. Over 200 ballots are mailed each August to the members of the Theater Hall of Fame and the nation's theatre critics. To be nominated, the theatre professional must have a minimum of 25 years on Broadway and five major credits, or the regional theatre nominee must be a theatre pioneer in his or her region. Since 1971, 400 theatre leaders have been voted for induction.

Terry Hodge Taylor produced the evening.


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Latest News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!