Bebe Neuwirth, Ana Gasteyer, Will Swenson, James Monroe Iglehart Part of Tonight's 24 Hour Musicals

News   Bebe Neuwirth, Ana Gasteyer, Will Swenson, James Monroe Iglehart Part of Tonight's 24 Hour Musicals
Over 100 artists create four original musicals in one day's time.
HR - James Monroe Iglehart.jpg
James Monroe Iglehart

The 24 Hour Company and the Off-Broadway theatre company The Exchange present the eighth annual The 24 Hour Musicals May 2 at the Highline Ballroom, 431 W. 16th St., Manhattan.

A team of more than 100 — including stars from Broadway, film, television and music — cast, write, compose, direct, rehearse, tech and perform four original musicals — all in the short time between the May 1 evening meet-and-greet and tonight's 8 PM show time.

Participants include Bebe Neuwirth (Chicago, Madam Secretary), Ana Gasteyer (Saturday Night Live), Matt Doyle (Book of Mormon), Victoria Clark (Light in the Piazza), James Monroe Iglehart (Aladdin), Javier Muñoz (Hamilton), Steven Boyer (Hand to God), Vella Lovell (Crazy Ex-Girlfriend), Ryann Redmond (Bring It On), Ali Stroker (Glee, Spring Awakening), Da'Vine Joy Randolph (Ghost, The Musical), AJ Shively (Bright Star), Dee Roscioli (Wicked), Joel Marsh Garland (Orange is the New Black), Julian Fleisher (February House) and Ashlie Atkinson (The Wolf of Wall Street). Writers and composers include Jonathan Marc Sherman (Things We Want, Clive), Lisa Lambert (The Drowsy Chaperone), Robin Goldwasser (People are Wrong), Adam Overett (My Life is A Musical), Kellen Blair (Murder For Two) and Amanda Green (Hands on a Hardbody). Directors and choreographers include Gordon Greenberg (Holiday Inn), Sam Pinkleton (Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812), Shea Sullivan (Pageant, Jawbreaker), Patricia McGregor (Hurt Village), Sherri Eden Barber (Happily Ever After) and Brad Landers (choreography, Scissor Sisters).

“Every year, a wonderfully talented group of the best from stage and screen come together to attempt the impossible,” said Ari Edelson, the artistic director of the Exchange and the Orchard Project, in a recent statement. “Furthermore, this year, for the first time in the history of The 24 Hour Musicals, we'll be honoring an individual whose personal contribution to the field mirrors the goals of The Orchard Project. We are proud that our first honoree will be the longtime Creative Director of the 24 Hour Musicals, Ted Sperling. Ted is a heralded and multi-faceted artist, known as a musical director, conductor, stage director, and orchestrator, among his many other talents. Ted’s continued support of bold work and bold voices, whether through his stewardship of countless shows, careers, and now through his leadership roles at Mastervoices (Collegiate Chorale) and the Public Theater, is a model for us all.”

“While we enjoy producing The 24 Hour Musicals around the globe, this annual benefit for The Exchange is our favorite night of the year,” said Tina Fallon, the founder of The 24 Hour Plays. “New York City is our home, as well as the home to the most phenomenal talent on the planet.”

Tickets for the gala cost $90 to $1,000, and all include admission to the show and open bar at the Highline Ballroom. Table seats include a VIP reception and buffet dinner before the show. To buy tickets, visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!