Bill T. Jones Wins American Dance Festival's $35,000 Scripps Award

Classic Arts News   Bill T. Jones Wins American Dance Festival's $35,000 Scripps Award
Choreographer Bill T. Jones will be presented with the 2005 Samuel H. Scripps/American Dance Festival Award, which is given for lifetime achievement in modern dance, in a ceremony on July 17 in Durham, North Carolina.

The award was established in 1981 and carries a prize of $35,000. It is given annually to "choreographers who have dedicated their lives and talent to the creation of modern dance." Past recipients include Martha Graham, Paul Taylor, Merce Cunningham, Alvin Ailey, Twyla Tharp, Trisha Brown, and Pina Bausch.

Jones was recently awarded the $50,000 Wexner Prize. He is the co-founder of the Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company, which was formed in 1982, and has choreographed over 50 works for his own company as well as numerous commissions for companies all over the world.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!