Callaway Award Winners Perform in Pearl's Bernarda Alba, Jan. 8

News   Callaway Award Winners Perform in Pearl's Bernarda Alba, Jan. 8
Want to see the last two years' Callaway Award winners in action? Then catch the Pearl Theatre Company's new production of Federico García Lorca’s The House of Bernarda Alba, which runs from Jan. 8, 2005, to Feb. 13 at 80 St. Mark’s Place in New York’s vibrant East Village.

The staging will feature Joanne Camp and Carol Schultz. Camp won the Callaway Award this year and Schultz won it in 2003. The prize is given annually by Actors' Equity and honors "the best performances in a professional production of a classic play (one written prior to 1920) in the New York metropolitan area."   Completed in June 1936, just two months before García Lorca’s violent death at the hands of Franco’s troops, The House of Bernarda Alba was the Spanish playwright’s final work. Lorca's play is set in a provincial area of Spain, circa early 1900s, and deals with five emotionally pinched sisters who have been isolated from the world by their domineering, puritanical mother. The sisters' feelings and yearnings are ignited when the eldest is betrothed to a handsome, sensual young man.

For tickets, call The Pearl Theatre Company at (212) 598-9802.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!