Caroline, or Change, I Am My Own Wife, Bug Among 2004 Lucille Lortel Winners

News   Caroline, or Change, I Am My Own Wife, Bug Among 2004 Lucille Lortel Winners
The 2004 Lucille Lortel Awards, honoring excellence in Off-Broadway theatre, were announced May 3 in Greenwich Village. It was a big night for Bug, Caroline, or Change and I Am My Own Wife.
Lortel Winners (from top): Caroline, or Change, I Am My Own Wife, and Bug
Lortel Winners (from top): Caroline, or Change, I Am My Own Wife, and Bug

The Lortel ceremony, named after the late actress and producer who embraced edgy, new and foreign work in the mid 20th century, is one of the major events of the Off-Broadway season. Joanna Gleason and Richard Thomas hosted the 19th annual ceremony, at the Minetta Lane Theatre.

A new category was announced this year: Outstanding Solo Show. The Pulitzer Prize-winning Doug Wright play, I Am My Own Wife snagged that award.

For more information, visit

Kathleen Chalfant, The Public Theater and Noche Flamenca each received previously-announced Special Awards this year: the Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence, the Outstanding Body of Work Award, and the Unique Theatrical Experience Award, respectively. Tony Kushner was inducted onto the Playwrights Sidewalk.

The winners and nominees are listed below. Winners appear in boldface type. Outstanding Play
Bug by Tracy Letts
Frozen by Bryony Lavery
The Long Christmas Ride Home by Paula Vogel
Small Tragedy by Craig Lucas
Valhalla by Paul Rudnick

Outstanding Musical
Caroline, or Change, Book and Lyrics by Tony Kushner, Music by Jeanine Tesori
Johnny Guitar, Lyrics by Joel Higgins, Music by Martin Silvestri, Book by Nicholas van Hoogstraten
The Musical of Musicals - The Musical!, Music by Eric Rockwell, Lyrics by Joanne Bogart, Book by Eric Rockwell and Joanne Bogart

Outstanding Solo Show
I Am My Own Wife, starring Jefferson Mays, written by Doug Wright
Sarah Jones: bridge & tunnel, starring and written by Sarah Jones
Women on Fire, starring Judith Ivey, written by Irene O'Garden

Outstanding Director
Christopher Ashley, Valhalla
Mark Brokaw, The Long Christmas Ride Home
Dexter Bullard, Bug
Doug Hughes, Frozen
Moisés Kaufman, I Am My Own Wife

Outstanding Choreographer
Hope Clarke, Caroline, or Change
Daniel Pelzig, Valhalla
Martín Santangelo, Noche Flamenca

Outstanding Lead Actor
Peter Frechette, Valhalla
Brían F. O'Byrne, Frozen
Lee Pace, Small Tragedy
Michael Shannon, Bug
Richard Thomas, The Stendhal Syndrome

Outstanding Lead Actress
Lisa Emery, Iron
Jayne Houdyshell, Well
Swoosie Kurtz, Frozen
Zilah Mendoza, Living Out
Tonya Pinkins, Caroline, or Change

Outstanding Featured Actor
Rob Campbell, Small Tragedy
Daniel Eric Gold, Small Tragedy
Gordon MacDonald, Trumbo
Will McCormack, The Long Christmas Ride Home
Mark Rosenthal, The Moonlight Room

Outstanding Featured Actress
Liza Colón-Zayas, Living Out
Kathryn Layng, The Moonlight Room
Laila Robins, Frozen
Anika Noni Rose, Caroline, or Change
Margaret Welsh, Big Bill

Outstanding Scenic Design
Scott Bradley, The Notebooks of Leonardo Da Vinci
Tim Hatley, Humble Boy
Derek McLane, I Am My Own Wife
Ajene D. Washington, American Menu

Outstanding Costume Design
Linda Cho, The Two Noble Kinsmen
William Ivey Long, Valhalla
Paul Tazewell, Caroline, or Change
Kaye Voyce, Johnny Guitar
Catherine Zuber, The Beard of Avon

Outstanding Lighting Design
Christopher Akerlind, Well
David Lander, I Am My Own Wife
Tyler Micoleau, Bug
Kenneth Posner, Valhalla
Clifton Taylor, Frozen

Outstanding Sound Design
John Gromada, Small Tragedy
Robert Kaplowitz,The Story
Brian Ronan, Bug
David Van Tieghem, The Long Christmas Ride Home

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!