Darius de Haas and More to Join Nathan Lee Graham in The Wiz at the St. Louis Muny

Regional News   Darius de Haas and More to Join Nathan Lee Graham in The Wiz at the St. Louis Muny
The 1974 musical will begin performances June 19 at the outdoor venue.
Darius de Haas Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Casting is now complete for the St. Louis Muny production of The Wiz, which begins performances June 19 at the outdoor venue.

Nathan Lee Graham Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Denis Jones, a Tony nominee for Holiday Inn, will direct the production, which runs through June 25. The family favorite will also feature choreography by Camille A. Brown (choreographer of the current Broadway revival of Once On This Island) and musical direction by Darryl Archibald.

The cast will be led by the previously reported Nathan Lee Graham (Zoolander, Priscilla Queen of the Desert) in the title role, After Midnight’s Jared Grimes as Scarecrow, and The Scottsboro Boys’ James T. Lane as Tinman.

These actors will be joined by Danyel Fulton as Dorothy, Darius de Haas (replacing the previously announced Mykal Kilgore) as Lion, E. Faye Butler as Addaperle/Evillene, Demetria McKinney as Glinda, and Nessa as Toto.

The ensemble includes Akilah Ayanna, Rhaamell Burke-Missouri, Kevin Curtis, Chloé Davis, Timothy L. Edwards, Chavon Hampton, Cameron Anika Hill, Karma Jenkins, Amber Pickens, Malaiyka Amiyna Reid, Allysa Shorte, Donald Shorter, Voltaire Wade-Greene, Sir Brock Warren, Nathaniel J. Washington, and Brion Marquis Watson as well as the Muny Kid and Teen youth ensembles.

The limited engagement will also have scenic design by Edward E. Haynes Jr., costume design by Leon Dobkowski, lighting design by Rob Denton, sound design by John Shivers and David Patridge, video design by Greg Emetaz, and wig design by Leah J. Loukas, with animals trained by William Berloni Theatrical Animals, Inc. The production stage manager is Nancy Uffner.


William F. Brown wrote the book for the soulful contemporary retelling of L. Frank Baum's classic. The Wiz also features music and lyrics by Charlie Smalls. The original 1974 production, directed by Geoffrey Holder and choreographed by George Faison, won seven Tony Awards including Best Musical.

The Tony Award-winning score includes such musical theatre standards as “Home,” “Ease on Down the Road,” and “If You Believe.”

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!