Diahann Carroll and Obba Babatunde Will Be Honored at 21st Annual NAACP Theatre Awards

News   Diahann Carroll and Obba Babatunde Will Be Honored at 21st Annual NAACP Theatre Awards
Tony winner Diahann Carroll and Tony nominee Obba Babatunde will be among those honored at the 21st Annual NAACP Theatre Awards Aug. 29 at the Director's Guild of America in Los Angeles.

Obba Babatunde
Obba Babatunde Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Actress and comedian Nicey Nash from ABC’s “Dancing With The Stars” is set to host the 7 PM event.

Carroll will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Babatunde will receive the Trailblazer Award. Pamela Browner-White is the winner of the President's Award.

Carroll, an Tony Award winner for Best Actress in a Musical for No Strings, was nominated for an Academy Award for "Claudine" and won a Golden Globe Award for her role on the television series "Julia." Carroll has also appeared on Broadway in House of Flowers and Agnes of God and starred as Norma Desmond in the Toronto engagement of Sunset Boulevard.

Babatunde, who was recently seen in the world-premiere biographical musical, Sammy, received a Tony nomination for his work as C.C. White in Dreamgirls; his other Broadway credits include Chicago, Timbuktu!, Reggae, It's So Nice to Be Civilized and Grind. His screen credits include "After the Sunset," "The Manchurian Candidate," "Material Girls" and "Half & Half."

Director’s Guild of America is located in Hollywood at 7920 W. Sunset Blvd.

For more information visit www.bhwdnaacptheatreawards.com.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!