Disney’s Frozen Musical Begins Broadway Performances February 22

Broadway News   Disney’s Frozen Musical Begins Broadway Performances February 22
Taking center stage at the St. James Theatre are Caissie Levy and Patti Murin as Elsa and Anna.
Patti Murin (Anna) and Caissie Levy (Elsa) with Jacob Smith in FROZEN. Photo by Deen van Meer.jpg
Patti Murin and Caissie Levy with Jacob Smith Deen van Meer

Frozen makes the leap from screen to Broadway stage February 22 as preview performances begin at the St. James Theatre. The Disney Theatrical production, directed by Michael Grandage, will officially open March 22.

Jelani Alladin (Kristoff) and Patti Murin (Anna) in FROZEN. Photo by Deen van Meer.jpg
Jelani Alladin and Patti Murin Deen van Meer

Leading the cast are Caissie Levy and Patti Murin as royal sisters Elsa and Anna, respectively. Among those joining them are Jelani Alladin as Kristoff, John Riddle as Hans, Greg Hildreth as Olaf, and Robert Creighton as Weselton.

The two-act musical is the first Frozen adaptation to expand upon the original 2013 animated hit. The film’s co-director and screenwriter Jennifer Lee returns to pen the book, while the Oscar-winning, husband-and-wife songwriting team of Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez have written a dozen new songs to join the movie’s familiar numbers.

Four of the Lopezes’ songs written specifically for the musical will be released over the course of four consecutive Fridays beginning February 23.


The cast also includes Kevin Del Aguila as Oaken, Timothy Hughes as Pabbie, and Andrew Pirozzi as Sven. Audrey Bennet and Mattea Conforti share the role of Young Anna, while Brooklyn Nelson and Ayla Schwartz will alternate in the role of Young Elsa. Alyssa Fox and Aisha Jackson will stand by for Elsa and Anna, respectively, while Adam Jepsen serves as the alternate for Sven.
Rounding out the company are Alicia Albright, Tracee Beazer, Wendi Bergamini, Ashley Blanchet, James Brown III, Claire Camp, Lauren Nicole Chapman, Spencer Clark, Jeremy Davis, Kali Grinder, Ashley Elizabeth Hale, Zach Hess, Donald Jones, Jr., Nina Lafarga, Ross Lekites, Austin Lesch, Synthia Link, Travis Patton, Adam Perry, Jeff Pew, Olivia Phillip, Noah J. Ricketts, Ann Sanders, Jacob Smith, and Nicholas Ward.

The production will offer a digital lottery for every performance, with winners earning the opportunity to purchase up to two tickets at $30 each.


Frozen features choreography by Rob Ashford, sets and costumes by Christopher Oram, lighting design by Natasha Katz, sound design by Peter Hylenski, video design by Finn Ross, puppet design by Micahel Curry, hair design by David Brian Brown, makeup by Anne Ford-Coates, and special effects by Jeremy Chernick.

Stephen Oremus serves as music supervisor, creating vocal, incidental, and dance arrangements; joining him on the music team are orchestrator Dave Metzger, music consultant Chris Montan, and music director Brian Usifer.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre Merchandise
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!