Educational Theatre Foundation Names Inaugural Broadway Back to School Award Recipients

Education News   Educational Theatre Foundation Names Inaugural Broadway Back to School Award Recipients
Freddie Gershon and Dr. Sharon Dunn will be presented with the honor in September at Feinstein’s 54/Below

Freddie Gershon, Co-chairman of Music Theatre International (MTI), and Dr. Sharon Dunn, former Senior Manager for Arts Education for the New York City Department of Education, will be honored with the Broadway Back to School Award at Feinstein’s 54/Below September 23.

The award, which recognizes the furtherance of access and excellence in school theatre, will be presented by the Educational Theatre Foundation at Broadway Back to School, an annual benefit that raises funds for underprivileged schools. Gershon and Dunn will receive the inaugural honor for their initiation of the Broadway Junior Musical Theatre program, which inspired ETF’s JumpStart Theatre initiative to help build middle school musical theatre programs across the country.


Now in its fourth iteration, this year's Broadway Back to School will feature performances and interviews with professional artists and students. Tony-nominated playwright Hunter Bell ([title of show]) will host.

The Educational Theatre Foundation is the philanthropic arm of the Educational Theatre Association, which includes the International Thespian Society.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!