Fierstein, Izzard, Peters and Avenue Q Take Part in Theatre World Awards Ceremony, June 2

News   Fierstein, Izzard, Peters and Avenue Q Take Part in Theatre World Awards Ceremony, June 2
The Theatre World Awards, which honor performers for making their first big New York splash (including, but not limited to, Broadway debuts), will be presented to this year's winners at a ceremony, June 2.

Previous Theatre World Award winners Elizabeth Ashley, Patricia Elliot, Harvey Fierstein, Danielle Ferland, Tovah Feldshuh, Linda Hart, Eddie Izzard, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Bernadette Peters and Lewis J. Stadlen will be on hand to present awards. Avenue Q stars Stephanie D'Abruzzo and John Tartaglia will provide entertainment at the invitation-only event.

The 2003 Theatre World Awards winners are Antonio Banderas (Nine), Tammy Blanchard (Gypsy), Thomas Jefferson Byrd (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom), Jonathan Cake (Medea), Victoria Hamilton (A Day in the Death of Joe Egg), Clare Higgins (Vincent in Brixton), Jackie Hoffman (Hairspray), Mary Stuart Masterson (Nine), John Selya (Movin’ Out), Jochum ten Haaf (Vincent in Brixton), Daniel Sunjata (Take Me Out) and Marissa Jaret Winokur (Hairspray).

Theatre World is an annual publication edited by John Willis. The awards self-titled awards were first presented in the 1944-45 season.

Among recent winners include:


  • 2001-02: Justin Bohon, Simon Callow, Mos Def, Emma Fielding, Adam Godley, Martin Jarvis, Spencer Kayden, Gretchen Mol, Anna Paquin, Louise Pitre, Rachel Weisz, David Warner


  • 2000-01: Juliette Binoche, Macaulay Culkin, Janie Dee, Raul Esparza, Kathleen Freeman, Deven May, Reba McEntire, Chris Noth, Joshua Park, Rosie Perez, Joely Richardson, John Ritter and Special Award: Sean Campion and Conleth Hill, Stones in His Pockets


  • 1999-2000: Craig Bierko, Everett Bradley, Gabriel Byrne, Ann Hampton Callaway Toni Collette, Henry Czerny, Stephen Dillane, Jennifer Ehle, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Hayley Mills, Cigdem Onat, Claudia Shear and Special Award: Dame Edna Everage (Barry Humphries)


  • 1998-99: Jillian Armenante, James Black, Brendan Coyle, Anna Friel, Rupert Graves, Lynda Gravatt, Nicole Kidman, Ciaran Hinds, Ute Lemper, Clarke Peter, Toby Stephens, Sandra Oh and Special Award: Jerry Herman


  • 1997-98: Max Casella, Margaret Colin, Ruaidhri Conroy, Alan Cumming, Lea DeLaria, Edie Falco, Enid Graham, Anna Kendrick, Ednita Nazario, Douglas Sills, Steven Sutcliffe, Sam Trammel and Special Awards: Eddie Izzard, Beauty Queen of Leenane Cast


  • 1996-97: Terry Beaver, Helen Carey, Kristin Chenowith, Jason Danieley, Linda Eder, Allison Janney, Daniel McDonald, Janet McTeer, Mark Ruffalo, Fiona Shaw, Antony Sher, Alan Tudyk and Special Award: Skylight Cast  

  • Today’s Most Popular News:

    Blocking belongs
    on the stage,
    not on websites.

    Our website is made possible by
    displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    Please consider supporting us by
    whitelisting with your ad blocker.
    Thank you!