"Glee" Co-Creator Ryan Murphy Will Receive 2012 International Emmy Founders Award

News   "Glee" Co-Creator Ryan Murphy Will Receive 2012 International Emmy Founders Award
"Glee" co-creator Ryan Murphy will receive the 2012 International Emmy Founders Award at the 40th International Emmy Awards Gala Nov. 19 in New York City.

The award recognizes "an individual who crosses cultural boundaries to touch our common humanity."

"Throughout his career, Ryan Murphy has masterfully redefined storytelling to create unprecedented atmospheres and characters that celebrate human difference, be it dark, as in 'Nip/Tuck,' or hopeful, as in 'Glee,'" said Academy president and CEO Bruce L. Paisner in a statement. "We are looking forward to recognizing his creative accomplishments, which continue the great tradition of American television as we mark the 40th Anniversary of The International Emmy Awards."

Murphy is the Emmy Award-winning creator, writer and director of "Glee" and Golden Globe-winning creator of "Nip/Tuck." His other series include "American Horror Story" and "Popular." His next film will be the screen adaptation of Larry Kramer's award-winning The Normal Heart, starring Julia Roberts, Mark Ruffalo and Matt Bomer.

Murphy's latest television show, "The New Normal," which stars Book of Mormon Tony nominee Andrew Rannells and Justin Bartha (Lend Me a Tenor), will premiere this fall on NBC.

Visit iEmmys.tv.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!