Hoffman, Huffman, Linney and "Rent"'s Dawson Among Satellite Winners

News   Hoffman, Huffman, Linney and "Rent"'s Dawson Among Satellite Winners
The International Press Academy, which is composed of accredited domestic and foreign journalists, announced the winners of the 10th Anniversary Satellite Awards Dec. 17.

The awards honor film and television productions in 36 categories. This year's nominees, announced Dec. 1, included four nominations for the Chris Columbus-directed film of Jonathan Larson's "Rent." Rosario Dawson, who stars as Mimi in the movie musical, won the award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role, Comedy or Musical.

"Rent" was also nominated for Best Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical; Director (Chris Columbus); and Sound Mixing and Editing (Rob Cavallo and Sally Boldt). Winners in those categories were, respectively, "Walk the Line," Ang Lee (for "Brokeback Mountain") and Tom Myers, Christopher Scarabosio, Andy Nelson, Paul Brincat, Ben Burt and Matthew Wood (for "Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith").

Others Satellite winners of interest to theatre fans include Felicity Huffman (Best Actress in a Motion Picture, Drama, for "Transamerica"), Philip Seymour Hoffman (Best Actor in a Motion Picture, Drama, for "Capote") and Laura Linney (Best Actress in a Supporting Role, Drama, for "The Squid and the Whale").

"Brokeback Mountain" received the most honors, including the award for Best Motion Picture, Drama.

For a complete list of Satellite Award winners, visit www.pressacademy.com.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!