Kander, McNally, Bock, Harnick, Nottage and Weller to Be Honored by Dramatists Guild

News   Kander, McNally, Bock, Harnick, Nottage and Weller to Be Honored by Dramatists Guild
The Dramatists Guild will honor Tony Award winners Jerry Bock, Sheldon Harnick and Terrence McNally with Lifetime Achievement Awards Nov. 1 at the Hudson Theater.

Fiddler on the Roof and She Loves Me writers Bock and Harnick will be honored alongside playwright McNally (Master Class, Kiss of the Spider Woman) for their lifelong achievements in theatrical writing.

The Nov. 1 awards ceremony will also present Pulitzer Prize-winning Ruined playwright Lynn Nottage with the Hull-Warriner Award, honoring playwrights whose work tackles controversial issues in political, religious or social arenas.

Tony Award-winning Kiss of the Spider Woman and Cabaret composer John Kander has been named the recipient of the Frederick Loewe Award in recognition of his work on The Scottsboro Boys, seen Off-Broadway last season and currently on Broadway at the Lyceum Theatre.

The final honor, the Flora Roberts Award, will be presented to Moonchildren playwright Michael Weller in recognition of his distinguished work in the theatre.

Tickets for the Dramatists Guild Awards are $100 and may be purchased by phoning (212) 398-9366, ext. 20. The Hudson Theatre is located at 45 W. 44th Street in Manhattan. *

The Dramatists Guild of America is the only professional association that represents the interests of more than 6,000 member playwrights and theatrical composers, lyricists and librettists in the United States. For more information about the Guild and its programming, visit their website at DramatistsGuild.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!