Kansas City Symphony Announces 2005-06 Season

Classic Arts News   Kansas City Symphony Announces 2005-06 Season
The Kansas City Symphony's 2005-06 season, the first led by music director Michael Stern, will include a celebration of 250th anniversary of Mozart's birth and several new works, including a world-premiere commission.

Mozart's works are included in four of the KCS's 13 subscription programs. Among the composer's works on the schedule are the Mass in C minor, performed in Robert Levin's recent reconstruction, and Symphonies Nos. 1, 36 ("Linz"), 40, and 41 ("Jupiter").

A commissioned new work by Zhou Long, a professor at the University of Missouri—Kansas City, is part of the program for the season-opening concerts, which also include Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 5 ("Emperor") with Leon Fleisher as soloist.

Also among the new works on the schedule are Joan Tower's Purple Rhapsody for Viola and Orchestra, a KCS co-commission performed by violist Paul Neubauer; Melinda Wagner's piano concerto Extremity of Sky; Jonathan Leshnoff's symphony Forgotten Chants and Refrains; and Gordon Chin's Double Concerto for Violin and Cello, with violinist Cho-Liang Lin and cellist Felix Fan.

Other guest soloists include mezzo-soprano Michelle DeYoung and pianists Emanuel Ax, Joseph Kalichstein, and Yefim Bronfman.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!