Karen Azenberg Is SDC President Again; Moisès Kaufman and Seret Scott Elected to Board

News   Karen Azenberg Is SDC President Again; Moisès Kaufman and Seret Scott Elected to Board
Director-choreographer Karen Azenberg has been elected to serve a second three-year term as president of the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society (SDC), the national labor union representing professional stage directors and choreographers.

Mois Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The results of its recent executive board elections were announced Nov. 29. Joining Azenberg on the board are incumbents including Julie Arenal, Walter Bobbie, Larry Carpenter, Marcia Milgrom Dodge, Richard Hamburger, Paul Lazarus, Susan H. Schulman, Amy Morton and Sharon Ott.

Morton will also serve as the Midwest Regional Representative; and Ott will also serve as the Southeast Regional Representative.

Newly elected to the board are Moisès Kaufman and Seret Scott.

SDC executive director Laura Penn also announces the appointment of Barbara Wolkoff to the newly established position of director of member services.

The SDC annual meeting opened with the presentation of the President's Award for Extraordinary Service to Melvin Bernhardt, and as previously announced, Joe A. Callaway Awards to director Ciarán O'Reilly (Irish Repertory Theatre's The Emperor Jones) and choreographer Byron Easley (Urban Stages' Langston in Harlem). Bernhardt, a Tony Award winner for his direction of Da, served many years on the SDC executive board and the Tony administration committee and has long been a champion of the SDC Foundation and its programs.

For additional information, visit SDC online at SDCweb.org.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!