Kurt Masur and Orchestre National de France Open American Tour at Carnegie Hall

Classic Arts News   Kurt Masur and Orchestre National de France Open American Tour at Carnegie Hall
 
The Orchestre National de France begins a ten-city tour with a performance at Carnegie Hall tonight.

The tour is the ensemble's first of the United States led by music director Kurt Masur. Tonight's performance also marks something of a homecoming for Masur, the music director of the New York Philharmonic from 1991 to 2002.

"I believe it will be interesting for American audiences to find out how my musical life goes on after my years as music director of the New York Philharmonic," Masur said. "The Orchestre National de France is a very young and ambitious orchestra, and I always find it refreshing to work with them. I believe U.S. audiences will recognize the talent and spontaneity of this orchestra."

The ONF's programs include the Ravel Piano Concerto and the Debussy Fantasie for Piano and Orchestra, both with Jean-Yves Thibaudet as soloist, as well as Rimsky-Korsakov's Sheherazade, Franck's Symphony, and Ravel's La Valse.

After three performances in the New York area this weekend, the tour moves to Boston, Atlanta, and Florida, where the ONF plays in five different cities. Complete tour dates are below.

Thursday, February 24: Carnegie Hall, New York, NY
Friday, February 25: NJPAC, Newark, NJ
Saturday, February 26: Tilles Center, Greenvale, Long Island, NY
Sunday, February 27: Symphony Hall, Boston, MA
Tuesday, March 1: Schwarz Center, Atlanta, GA
Wednesday, March 2: Kravis Center, West Palm Beach, FL
Thursday, March 3: Philharmonic Center, Naples. FL
Saturday, March 5: Van Wezel Hall, Sarasota, FL
Sunday, March 6: Bob Carr Auditorium, Orlando, FL
Monday, March 7: Broward Center, Fort Lauderdale, FL


Recommended Reading: