Lilly Awards to Honor Mary Rodgers and Kristin Chenoweth; Steinem to Participate

News   Lilly Awards to Honor Mary Rodgers and Kristin Chenoweth; Steinem to Participate
The Committee for Recognizing Women in Theater has announced that the first annual "Lilly Awards" — in honor of the late Lillian Hellman — will be presented May 24 at Playwrights Horizons.

Kristin Chenoweth
Kristin Chenoweth Photo by Andrew Southam

Seventeen awards will be given, including a Lifetime Achievement Award to composer Mary Rodgers. Tony Award winner Kristin Chenoweth, currently back on Broadway in Promises, Promises, will also be honored, and Gloria Steinem will give an Invocation.

Presenters will be announced shortly.

The committee who created the awards comprises Julie Crosby, John Eisner, Gary Garrison, Tina Howe, Julia Jordan, Marsha Norman, Theresa Rebeck, Susan Rose and Tim Sanford and the Dramatists Guild of America. Their mission is "to celebrate the work of outstanding, successful and up-and-coming women playwrights, directors, designers and advocates in the theater."

About once interviewing Lillian Hellman, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Marsha Norman stated, "She warned me it was going to be tough to be a woman working in the theater. She said I'd need to  write like the devil and also act like one when necessary.   She was right on all counts.  This party is just to remind everybody that there are so many great women working in the theatre now. In New York alone, 51 plays this year, on Broadway and off, were written by women.  And the work is stunning.  I wish Ms. Hellman could see this."

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!