Long Wharf, Yale Rep and Goodspeed Top Connecticut Critics Circle List

News   Long Wharf, Yale Rep and Goodspeed Top Connecticut Critics Circle List
Connecticut productions of Blackbird, A Woman of No Importance and Shipwrecked are among the winners of the 2007-2008 Connecticut Critics Circle Awards.
Beth Wittig in TheatreWorks' Blackbird.
Beth Wittig in TheatreWorks' Blackbird. Photo by Lanny Nagler

Founded in 1990 to honor excellence in Connecticut professional theatre, the awards are determined by critics from various media outlets including print, radio, and the internet.

The Goodspeed Opera House, Long Wharf Theatre and Yale Repertory Company lead the winners, earning four awards each. Long Wharf artistic director Gordon Edelstein has also been honored with the Tom Killen Award, a recognition of extraordinary contributions to the Connecticut theatre scene.

The 2007-2008 Connecticut Critics Circle Awards winners follow:

  • Outstanding Production of a Play
    Blackbird (TheaterWorks)


  • Outstanding Production of a Musical (Tie)
    1776 (Goodspeed Musicals)
    Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat (Ivoryton Playhouse)
  • Outstanding Actress in a Play
    Patricia Kilgarriff (A Woman of No Importance, Yale Repertory Theatre)
  • Outstanding Actor in a Play
    Michael Countryman (Shipwrecked, Long Wharf Theatre)
  • Outstanding Actress in a Musical
    Jessie Mueller (Carousel, Long Wharf)
  • Outstanding Actor in a Musical
    Peter Carey (1776, Goodspeed)
  • Outstanding Debut
    Beth Wittig (Blackbird, TheaterWorks)
  • Outstanding Ensemble
    Boleros for the Disenchanted, Yale Rep; Lucia Brawley, Joe Minoso, Gary Perez, Adriana Sevan, Felix Solis, and Sona Tatoyan.
  • Outstanding Director of a Play
    Michael Wilson (The Milk Train Doesn't Stop Here Anymore, Hartford Stage)
  • Outstanding Director of a Musical
    Rob Ruggiero (1776, Goodspeed)
  • Outstanding Choreography
    Michele Lynch (Happy Days, Goodspeed)
  • Outstanding Set Design
    Riccardo Hernandez (The Evildoers, Yale Rep)
  • Outstanding Lighting Design
    Tyler Micoleau (Shipwrecked, Long Wharf)
  • Outstanding Costume Design
    Anya Klepikov (A Woman of No Importance, Yale Rep)
  • Outstanding Road Show
    The Drowsy Chaperone, The Bushnell
  • The Tom Killen Award Recipient Gordon Edelstein, Artistic Director, Long Wharf Theatre The 2007-2008 Connecticut Critics Circle Awards will be presented June 29. A venue has not been announced at this time.

    For further information visit www.ctcritics.org.

  • Today’s Most Popular News:

    Blocking belongs
    on the stage,
    not on websites.

    Our website is made possible by
    displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    Please consider supporting us by
    whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
    Thank you!