Marshall, Mirren and Field Among 2007 Primetime Emmy Winners

News   Marshall, Mirren and Field Among 2007 Primetime Emmy Winners
Tony and Academy Award nominee Rob Marshall won an Emmy Award at the 59th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards, which were televised live from Los Angeles Sept. 16 on FOX.
Rob Marshall on the set of
Rob Marshall on the set of "Memoirs of a Geisha."

Marshall won the Outstanding Directing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Program Emmy for "Tony Bennett: An American Classic." That program, which aired on NBC in November, also picked up Emmys for Outstanding Variety, Music or Comedy Special and one for singer Bennett himself for Individual Performance, Variety or Music Program.

Helen Mirren, the stage and screen star who won an Academy Award for her performance as Queen Elizabeth II in "The Queen," won her latest Emmy for her work on "Prime Suspect: The Final Act." That PBS program also won Emmys for Philip Martin (Directing, Miniseries, Movie or Dramatic Special) and Frank Deasy (Writing, Miniseries, Movie or Dramatic Special).

Veteran actor James Duvall won his first Emmy Award for his performance in the Emmy-winning miniseries "Broken Trail," and Sally Field — who made her Broadway debut in Edward Albee's The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia — won the Lead Actress in a Drama Series Emmy for her role as Nora Walker on "Brothers & Sisters," the TV series created by playwright Jon Robin Baitz. Other top acting prizes went to James Spader in "Boston Legal" (Lead Actor, Drama Series); America Ferrera in "Ugly Betty" (Lead Actress, Comedy Series); and Ricky Gervais in "Extras" (Lead Actor, Comedy Series).

"30 Rock" was named Outstanding Comedy Series. The Emmy for Outstanding Drama Series went to HBO's "The Sopranos," which ended its acclaimed run in June.

The Emmy Awards telecast also included a Tony Bennett-Christina Aguilera duet, a tribute to HBO's "The Sopranos" from the national touring cast of Jersey Boys and a salute to the 1977 record-breaking miniseries "Roots." The 2007 Primetime Emmy winners follow:

Drama Series
"The Sopranos"

Comedy Series
"30 Rock"

Lead Actor, Drama Series
James Spader, "Boston Legal"

Lead Actress, Comedy Series
America Ferrera, "Ugly Betty"

Lead Actress, Drama Series
Sally Field, "Brothers & Sisters"

Lead Actor, Comedy Series
Ricky Gervais, "Extras"

Reality Competition Program
"The Amazing Race"

Writing, Comedy Series
Greg Daniels, "The Office"

Directing, Comedy Series
Richard Shepard, "Ugly Betty"

Individual Performance, Variety or Music Program
Tony Bennett, "Tony Bennett: An American Classic"

Writing, Miniseries, Movie or Dramatic Special
Frank Deasy, "Prime Suspect: The Final Act"

Directing, Miniseries, Movie or Dramatic Special
Philip Martin, "Prime Suspect: The Final Act"

Lead Actress, Miniseries or Movie
Helen Mirren, "Prime Suspect: The Final Act"

Made for Television Movie
"Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee"

Supporting Actress, Miniseries or Movie
Judy Davis, "The Starter Wife"

Variety, Music or Comedy Special
"Tony Bennett: An American Classic"

Variety, Music or Comedy Series
"The Daily Show with Jon Stewart"

Writing, Drama Series
David Chase, "The Sopranos"

Directing, Drama Series
Alan Taylor, "The Sopranos"

"Broken Trail"

Lead Actor, Miniseries or Movie
Robert Duvall, "Broken Trail"

Directing, Variety, Music or Comedy Program
Rob Marshall, "Tony Bennett: An American Classic"

Writing, Variety, Music or Comedy Program
"Late Night with Conan O'Brien"

Supporting Actress, Drama Series
Katherine Heigl, "Grey's Anatomy"

Supporting Actor, Miniseries or Movie
Thomas Haden Church, "Broken Trail"

Supporting Actress, Comedy Series
Jaime Pressly, "My Name Is Earl"

Supporting Actor, Drama Series
Terry O’Quinn, "Lost"

Supporting Actor, Comedy Series
Jeremy Piven, "Entourage"

Tony Award winner Elaine Stritch was among the Emmy winners who were announced at the 59th Creative Arts Emmy Awards on Sept. 8. Stritch won the Emmy for Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series for her work on "30 Rock." The 60th Annual Tony Awards telecast also picked up an Emmy for Outstanding Special Class Program. Other winners included Stanley Tucci (Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series for "Monk"), John Goodman (Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series for "Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip") and Spike Lee (Outstanding Directing for Nonfiction Programming for HBO's "When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts").

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!