Memphis Symphony to Focus on the Piano in 2005-06

Classic Arts News   Memphis Symphony to Focus on the Piano in 2005-06
The Memphis Symphony Orchestra's 2005-06 season will showcase two newly acquired pianos with performances by Emanuel Ax, Garrick Ohlsson, and other leading pianists, the orchestra announced.

The two pianos, a nine-foot Steinway D concert grand and a seven-foot Boston grand, were purchased using a grant from the Plough Foundation.

Ax will open the season with two performances on September 17 and 18, performing Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 9. Ohlsson will perform Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 3 as part of a Rachmaninoff Festival in October.

Other visiting pianists include Andr_-Michel Schub, playing Beethoven's "Emperor" Concerto; Jorge Federico Osorio, playing Manuel de Falla's Nights in the Gardens of Spain; Orion Weiss, playing Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 21; and John Nakamatsu, playing Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 27.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!