Midtown International Theatre Festival Announces Inaugural Awards Ceremony

News   Midtown International Theatre Festival Announces Inaugural Awards Ceremony
Now in its eighth year, the Midtown International Theatre Festival has announced the first annual MITF Awards, celebrating over 40 productions presented during the 21-day festival, which ran July 16–Aug. 5.

The awards presentation will take place at the Zipper Tavern on Sept. 9 at 6:30 PM and is open to the public. Members of the MITF staff who saw a significant amount of the festival productions in each category selected the nominees.

"After doing this for eight years, and seeing some fantastic productions, we figured out it was about time to start having an award ceremony," John Chatterton, executive director of the MITF, stated. "Receiving recognition for your work is an important thing, and we wanted to say 'well done' to the participants this year and hopefully some of these productions will have the chance to move on to the next level."

Among the 26 categories are The Producers Award for Excellence and the MITF Congeniality Award, which include cash prizes.

A selection of the nominated works include:

Outstanding Overall Production of a New Play:
I'm In Love With Your Wife, written by Alex Goldberg.
Nosferatu: The Morning of My Death, written by Stanton Wood.
The Executioner, written by Jon Kern.
Webeime, written and directed by Layon Gray. Outstanding Overall Production of a Musical:
Take Me America, book and lyrics by Bill Nabel. Music by Bob Christianson.
The Street, written by Ronnie Cohen and Jane Beale. Music and lyrics by Ronnie Cohen.
Twist, book and lyrics by Gila Sand. Music by Paul Leschen and Gila Sand. Additional music by Garrit Guadan.

Outstanding Overall Production of a New Short Play, One-act, or Monologue:
"28 Years Later" from Five by Three, written and directed by Erica Jenson, Uma Incrocci and Nicole Greevy.
"Marta’s Spa" from Secrets Women Share, written by Meri Wallace.
"Me and Steppin" from Outroverted, written and performed by Richie McCall.
"Framed" from Exhibit This! The Museum Plays, written by Luigi Jannuzzi.
"Renaissance" from Outroverted, written and performed by Susan Rankus.

Outstanding Overall Production of a Solo Show:
The Speed Queen, adapted and performed by Anne Stockton.
A Line in the Sand, written and performed by Adina Taubman.
Storia, written and performed by Troy Diana.
The Purpose of Matter in the Universe, written and performed by Joe Hutcheson.

Outstanding Overall Production of a Staged Reading:
La Tosca, written and directed by Hector Lugo.
Those Whistling Lads, adapted for the stage by Maureen Van Trease.
Spokes, written by Chance D. Muehleck.

Outstanding Overall Production of a Revival:
Stuck, written by Jessica Goldberg.
The House of Blue Leaves, written by John Guare.
Will Success Spoil Rock Hunter?, written by George Axelrod.

A complete list of categories and nominees is available by visiting www.midtownfestival.org.

The MITF Awards will be held at the Zipper Tavern, located adjacent to the Zipper Theatre at 336 West 37th Street in Manhattan. A cash bar and full menu will be available to all attendees.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!