New Dramatists to Honor Producer Roger Berlind May 17; Jim Dale and Brian Stokes Mitchell Set for Event

News   New Dramatists to Honor Producer Roger Berlind May 17; Jim Dale and Brian Stokes Mitchell Set for Event
New Dramatists will honor 14-time Tony Award-winning producer Roger Berlind during its 62nd annual spring luncheon May 17 at the Marriott Marquis.

Roger Berlind
Roger Berlind Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Berlind, who has been a Broadway producer for over 30 years, will be honored for his contribution to the American theatre. Tony Award-winning actors Jim Dale and Brian Stokes Mitchell and McCarter Theatre artistic director and playwright Emily Mann will pay tribute to Berlind during the 11:15 AM luncheon. Shubert Organization executives Philip J. Smith and Robert E. Wankel serve as luncheon chairs.

"A great producer is a playwright's best friend, and Roger Berlind is a great producer," New Dramatists artistic director Todd London said in a statement. "You can look down the list of the projects he's supported to see that. They exemplify taste, intelligence, and a love of theatre. More, though, look down the list of the artists he's supported. That's the true mark of a producer--his relationships. And that's the true mark of Mr. Berlind: real partnerships with remarkable artists. He belongs in the front of that rare lineage, the gentleman producer."

This season Berlind is represented with Arcadia, The Book of Mormon, Driving Miss Daisy, La Bête and Jerusalem. His numerous productions include Copenhagen; Kiss Me, Kate; Proof; Medea; Anna in the Tropics; Caroline, or Change; Wonderful Town; Doubt; The History Boys; Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?; Faith Healer; Deuce; The Year of Magical Thinking; Curtains; Rock ‘n’ Roll, Is He Dead?; Gypsy; 13; Equus; Ragtime; A Little Night Music; and A Behanding in Spokane.

Previous New Dramatists honorees include Julie Taymor, Horton Foote, Edward Albee, Harvey Fierstein, Chita Rivera, Meryl Streep, Angela Lansbury, Julie Andrews, Glenn Close, Stephen Sondheim, Arthur Miller, Neil Simon, Jerry Herman, Terrence McNally, Barbara Cook, John Kander & Fred Ebb, August Wilson, George C. Wolfe and Gwen Verdon.

For tickets, priced $300, phone (212) 757-6960. The Marriott Marquis is located at 1535 Broadway, between 45th and 46th Streets.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!