NYMF Productions Honored at "Best of the Fest Awards" Nov. 2

News   NYMF Productions Honored at "Best of the Fest Awards" Nov. 2
Tony Award-winning producer Kevin McCollum hosts the fifth annual New York Musical Theatre Festival's "Best of the Fest" Awards gala at the Hudson Theatre Nov. 2.
Raul Esparza
Raul Esparza

The evening recognizes the achievements of the new works that were featured in NYMF's annual showcase of new musicals. The 6 PM evening also honors producer Robyn Goodman, who has produced Avenue Q, In the Heights, Metamorphoses, A Class Act, Steel Magnolias, Barefoot in the Park, High Fidelity, Bat Boy, tick, tick…BOOM!, Our Lady of 121st Street, Red Light Winter and Altar Boyz.

Set to entertain during the awards ceremony are Tony nominee Raúl Esparza (Speed-the-Plow, Company); original NYMF Altar Boyz Ryan Duncan, Cheyenne Jackson, David Josefsberg, Andy Karl and Tyler Maynard; Gary Adler (Altar Boyz, Avenue Q); Stephanie D'Abruzzo (Avenue Q); Robert Lopez (Avenue Q); Kristen Anderson-Lopez (Finding Nemo: The Musical); Lin-Manuel Miranda (In The Heights); the cast of [title of show]; and the companies of the award-winning NYMF productions.

A complete list of categories and winners follows:

  • Best of Fest Audience Prize: Idaho! by Buddy Sheffield and Keith Thompson.
    Runner Up: The Jerusalem Syndrome (Laurence Holzman, Felicia Needleman and Kyle Rosen).


  • Most Promising New Musical: Bonnie & Clyde: A Folktale by Rick Crom and Hunter Foster.
    Honorable Mention: Idaho! (Buddy Sheffield and Keith Thompson); Love Jerry (Megan Gogerty).
  • Theater for the American Musical Prize: The Jerusalem Syndrome by Laurence Holzman, Felicia Needleman and Kyle Rosen.
  • Excellence In Writing (Music): Rick Crom, Bonnie & Clyde: A Folktale.
    Honorable Mention: Paul Leschen, Bedbugs!!!; Drew Fornarola & Scott Elmegreen, College: The Musical; Mira J. Spektor, Villa Diodati.
  • Excellence In Writing (Lyrics): Drew Fornarola & Scott Elmegreen, College: The Musical.
    Honorable Mention: David Arthur, About Face; Rick Crom, Bonnie & Clyde: A Folktale; Laurence Holzman & Felicia Needleman, The Jerusalem Syndrome.
  • Excellence In Writing (Book): Megan Gogerty, Love Jerry.
    Honorable Mention: Fred Sauter, Bedbugs!!!; Laurence Holzman & Felicia Needleman, The Jerusalem Syndrome.
  • Excellence In Direction: Matt Lenz, Idaho!.
    Honorable Mention: Nick Corley, About Face; Mark Waldrop,Bonnie & Clyde; Hilary Adams, Love Jerry.
  • Excellence In Choreography: Matt Williams, Ward 9.
    Honorable Mention: Mark Knowles, That Other Woman's Child; Joshua Bergasse, Maurice Brandon Curry, Daryl Gray, Jeff Shade and Shea Sullivan, Wild About Harry.
  • Excellence In Overall Design: Idaho!.
    Honorable Mention: Twilight In Manchego, Villa Diodati.
  • Outstanding Ensemble Performance: Love Jerry.
    Honorable Mention: Bedbugs!!!, Play It Cool.
  • Outstanding Individual Performances:
    Celina Carvajal (Bedbugs!!!)
    Donna Lynne Champlin (Love Jerry)
    Chuck Cooper (Twilight in Manchego)
    Harris Doran (Love Jerry)
    Jodi Langel (I Come For Love)
    Heather Laws (She Can't Believe She Said That!)
    Sally Mayes (Play It Cool)
    Caroline O'Connor (The Hatpin)
    Brian Charles Rooney (Bedbugs!!!)
    Josh Strickland (Play It Cool)
    Barbara Walsh (About Face)
    Kate Wetherhead (Wood) For further information visit NYMF.

  • Today’s Most Popular News:

    Blocking belongs
    on the stage,
    not on websites.

    Our website is made possible by
    displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    Please consider supporting us by
    whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
    Thank you!