Occhipinti, Murley, Krall Win Canadian National Jazz Awards

Classic Arts News   Occhipinti, Murley, Krall Win Canadian National Jazz Awards
The Canadian National Jazz Awards were presented June 21 in Toronto, the CBC reports.

Pianist Laila Biali won awards in both the composer and keyboardist categories; Robert Occhipinti won as a producer and acoustic group. Both Biali and Occhipinti are based in Toronto.

Saxophonist Mike Murley won the award for album of the year for Extra Time, and pianist Brad Turner in the Canadian-musician category. Molly Johnson was given the award for vocalist of the year. Singer Diana Krall won the international-musician category.

The awards were presented at a gala at the Phoenix Concert Theatre. The nominees were chosen by the Canadian jazz community and selected by the general public in an online vote.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!