"One": A Chorus Line Revival Celebrates First Anniversary Oct. 5

News   "One": A Chorus Line Revival Celebrates First Anniversary Oct. 5
Oct. 5 marks the one-year anniversary for the Broadway revival of A Chorus Line.

Charlotte d'Amboise in A Chorus Line.
Charlotte d'Amboise in A Chorus Line. Photo by Paul Kolnik

Michael Bennett's 1975 production was restaged by Bob Avian and Baayork Lee, opening at the Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre on Oct. 5, 2006, following a six-week run at San Francisco's Curran Theatre.

Produced by John Breglio, who also serves as the legal representation for the estate of the late Michael Bennett, A Chorus Line recouped its entire initial investment of $8 million only 19 weeks after opening, breaking the house record seven times in its first five months on Broadway.

The musical received two Tony Award nominations, including one for Best Revival of a Musical and the other for actress Charlotte d'Amboise in the role of Cassie.

The Pulitzer Prize-winning A Chorus Line has a book by James Kirkwood and Nicholas Dante, music by Marvin Hamlisch and lyrics by the late Edward Kleban.

The design team for the 2006 restaging reunites much of the original creative team, including Robin Wagner (sets), Theoni V. Aldredge (costumes), Natasha Katz and Tharon Musser (lighting) and Acme Sound Partners (sound). Musical direction and supervision is by Patrick Vaccariello, with updated orchestrations by Jonathan Tunick, Billy Byers and Hershey Kay and vocal arrangements are by Don Pippin. The current cast of A Chorus Line features Nick Adams (Larry), Michael Berresse (Zach), Natalie Cortez (Diana), Charlotte d'Amboise (Cassie), Jessica Lee Goldyn (Val), Deidre Goodwin (Sheila), Michael Gruber (Greg), Bryan Knowlton (Paul), James T. Lane (Richie), Melissa Lone (Maggie), J. Elaine Marcos (Connie), Paul McGill (Mark), Heather Parcells (Judy), Krysta Rodriguez (Bebe), Jason Patrick Sands (Don), Jeffrey Schecter (Mike), Will Taylor (Bobby), Katherine Tokarz (Kristine) and Kevin Worley (Al), as well as Michelle Aravena, David Baum, Mike Cannon, E. Clayton Cornelious, Dena Digiacinto, Joey Dudding, Lyndy Franklin, Nadine Isenegger, Jessica Lea Patty, Kim Shriver, Grant Turner and Deone Zanotto.

A national tour will launch at The Denver Center for the Performing Arts - Buell Theatre May 6-17, 2008. Following its Denver premiere, the tour will play a seven-week engagement at The Ahmanson Theatre in Los Angeles, May 21-July 6, 2008. Scheduling is currently underway for Philadelphia; Portland, Oregon; Costa Mesa; Seattle; Toronto; and Washington, D.C. during the 2008-2009 season.

The original production of A Chorus Line opened at the Public Theater's Newman Theater on May 21, 1975, and transferred to Broadway's Shubert Theatre on July 25. The musical won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama, along with nine Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Best Score and Best Book. It ran for nearly 15 years, closing on April 28, 1990, after 6,137 performances.

For tickets visit www.telecharge.com or call (212) 239-6200. For more information visit www.achorusline.com. The Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre is located in Manhattan at 236 West 45th Street.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!