Paper Mill's 1776, with Stephenson, Cuccioli, Barbour, Kennedy, O'Malley, Opens April 19

News   Paper Mill's 1776, with Stephenson, Cuccioli, Barbour, Kennedy, O'Malley, Opens April 19
The Paper Mill Playhouse's production of the Tony Award-winning musical 1776 officially opens at the New Jersey venue April 19. Previews began April 15.
Don Stephenson
Don Stephenson

Directed by Gordon Greenberg and choreographed by Josh Rhodes, the cast boasts Don Stephenson (John Adams), Robert Cuccioli (John Dickinson), Conrad John Schuck (Benjamin Franklin), Kerry O'Malley (Abigail Adams), Lauren Kennedy (Martha Jefferson), Kevin Earley (Thomas Jefferson), Nick Wyman (John Hancock), James Barbour (Edward Rutledge), Jeff Brooks (Rev. John Witherspoon), Erick Buckley (Robert Livingston), Kenneth Cavett (Col. Thomas McKean), James Coyle (Caesar Rodney), MacIntyre Dixon (Stephen Hopkins), Ian R. Gleason (Josiah Bartlett), Todd A. Horman (Roger Sherman), Jamie LaVerdiere (James Wilson), John O’Creagh (Andrew McNair), Kevin Pariseau (Charles Thompson), Tom Treadwell (Lyman Hall), Aaron Ramey (Richard Henry Lee), Michael Rose (George Read), Michael Scibilia (Joseph Hewes), Ric Stoneback (Samuel Chase) and Matthew C. Thompson (Lewis Morris) with Andrew "Curly" Glynn, Griffin Matthews and Jared Miller.

1776, according to the Paper Mill, "follows John Adams of Massachusetts, Benjamin Franklin of Pennsylvania, and Richard Henry Lee and Thomas Jefferson of Virginia as they attempt to convince the members of the second Continental Congress to vote for independence from the shackles of the British monarchy by signing the Declaration of Independence."

Performances will continue through May 17.

The design team comprises scenic designer Kevin Rupnik, costume designer Alejo Vietti, lighting designer Jeff Croiter and sound designer Randy Hansen. The production stage manager is Richard Rauscher.

1776, based on the arguments and politics involved in the signing of the Declaration of Independence, opened on Broadway in March 1969, playing 1,217 performances before closing Feb. 13, 1972. With a score by Sherman Edwards and a book by Peter Stone, the original cast featured William Daniels, Howard Da Silva, Betty Buckley, David Ford, Ronald Holgate, Ken Howard and Virginia Vestoff. Peter H. Hunt directed the 1972 film, which featured many of the original Broadway cast members, including Daniels, Da Silva and Howard. Directed by Scott Ellis, a 1997 revival for the Roundabout Theatre Company starred Tom Aldredge, Michael Cumpsty, Dashiell Eaves, Gregg Edelman, Pat Hingle, Linda Emond, Merwin Foard, Brent Spiner, Paul Michael Valley and Lauren Ward. Paper Mill Playhouse is located at 22 Brookside Drive in Millburn, NJ. For tickets call (973) 376-4343 or visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!