Philly's Barrymore Award Nominations to Be Announced Aug. 2; Ceremony Is Oct. 4

News   Philly's Barrymore Award Nominations to Be Announced Aug. 2; Ceremony Is Oct. 4
Nominees for the 16th annual Barrymore Awards, celebrating excellence in Philadelphia-area theatre, get announced Aug. 2 at New Freedom Theatre.
The Barrymore Award
The Barrymore Award

The Barrymores are presented by the Theatre Alliance of Greater Philadelphia. The nomination announcement coincides with the Alliance's annual membership meeting. At the meeting, area actor Pete Pryor will receive a Special Recognition Award acknowledging his receipt of the Lunt-Fontanne Fellowship, "emblematic of both his national status as a premiere actor and the world class nature of the Philadelphia acting pool."

At 4 PM Aug. 2, Barrymore nominees will be announced by two of Philadelphia's favorite and busiest performers — Tony Braithwaite and Mary Martello, who are both previous Barrymore Award winners and past hosts of the Barrymore Awards ceremony.

Nominees for more than 20 awards for excellence in theatre will be announced. There are also three special awards: the F. Otto Haas Award for an Emerging Philadelphia Theatre Artist, Excellence in Theatre Education and Community Service and the Ted & Stevie Wolf New Approaches to Collaborations Award.

The 16th annual Barrymore Awards presentation will be Oct. 4 at the Walnut Street Theatre, with a reception following at the Ballroom at the Ben. For more information, visit or call (215) 413-7150.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!