PHOTO CALL: 2007 Mr. Abbott Award Ceremony

News   PHOTO CALL: 2007 Mr. Abbott Award Ceremony Tony Award-winning director Daniel Sullivan was honored with the 2007 Mr. Abbott Award March 26 in a ceremony at the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse at Lincoln Center.

The award is given by the Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation for lifetime achievement in the American theatre. Sullivan — one of New York's most prolific directors — helmed the revival of Lucas' Prelude to a Kiss for the Roundabout Theatre Company at the American Airlines Theatre. Next season he will serve as acting artistic director of Manhattan Theatre Club when Lynne Meadow — a past Abbott Award winner — goes on sabbatical.

A favored director of such playwrights as Margulies and the late Wendy Wasserstein, Sullivan has been nominated for six Tony Awards for Direction of a Play, and won for David Auburn's Proof.


At left (from top): Carolyn McCormick and honoree Daniel Sullivan; Dana Ivey; Jessica Hecht and Amy Ryan; Doug Hughes; former honoree and presenter Jack O'Brien and Daniel Sullivan; David Hare; Dianne Wiest and Jason Butler Harner; Tyne Daly and Tisa Chang.

Below: Sister Kate Gallagher, brother-in-law Martin Jay, wife Mimi Lieber, honoree Daniel Sullivan, daughters Megan and Rachel at the 2007 Mr. Abbott Award for lifetime achievement in directing.

photos by Aubrey Reuben