PHOTO CALL: 74th Annual Drama League Awards

News   PHOTO CALL: 74th Annual Drama League Awards
Winners of the 74th Annual Drama League Awards were announced May 16 at a luncheon in the Grand Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis Hotel.
A Catered Affair director John Doyle
A Catered Affair director John Doyle Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The event was hosted by Tony Award winner Harvey Fierstein, who is back on Broadway this season in A Catered Affair. Winners included A Catered Affair (Distinguished Production of a Musical), August: Osage County (Distinguished Production of a Play), South Pacific (Distinguished Production of a Revival of a Musical), Macbeth (Distinguished Production of a Revival of a Play) and Patti LuPone (Distinguished Performance Award for her work in the current Arthur Laurents-directed revival of Gypsy).

The afternoon also honored frequent Sondheim collaborator Paul Gemignani (Follies, Pacific Overtures) with the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award; LaMaMa e.t.c. founder Ellen Stewart with the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award; and Bartlett Sher (The Light in the Piazza, South Pacific) with the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing.

Click here for a full list of winners and nominees.

Below are photos of some of those in attendance at the afternoon event:

Jean Doumanian
Bartlett Sher
Chazz Palminteri
Brian d'Arcy James
Rufus Sewell and Ben Daniels
Laurence Fishburne
Daniel Evans
Jenna Russell
Roger Berlind and Paul Gemignani
Bernard Gersten and Andre Bishop
From left: Kathryn Hahn, Mary McCormack, Mark Rylance and Christine Baranski
Laura Benanti, Patti LuPone and Deanna Dunagan
Tom Wopat, Faith Prince and Harvey Fierstein

All photos by Aubrey Reuben

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!