PHOTO CALL: Henry Hewes Awards

News   PHOTO CALL: Henry Hewes Awards
On Nov. 9 the American Theatre Wing's Henry Hewes Design Awards were presented in a ceremony held at Sardi's.

The Hewes Awards are open to Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway productions and are designed to "celebrate the artists who fashion the worlds realized on the city's stages, for designs originating in the United States," according to the American Theatre Wing's website. Originally titled the Maharam Awards and later known as the American Theatre Wing Design Awards, the awards were renamed in 1999 to honor founder Henry Hewes.

The complete list of award winners follows:

  • Scenic Design
    Allen Moyer for Grey Gardens
  • Costume Design
    Anita Yavich for Measure For Pleasure
  • Lighting Design
    Howell Binkley for Jersey Boys
  • Notable Effects - Projections
    Ruppert Bohle for Cathay: Three Tales Of China
  • Notable Effects - Puppetry
    Wang Bo for Cathay: Three Tales Of China
  • Notable Effects - Puppetry
    Stephen Kaplin for Cathay: Three Tales Of China

Below: (standing) Stephen Kaplin, Ruppert Bohle, Anita Yavich, Michael Yeargan, Allen Moyer and William Ivey Long; (seated) Doug Leeds - President of the ATW, Sondra Gilman - Chairman of the ATW, and Jeffrey Eric Jenkins - Chairman of the Awards Committee.
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!