Priscilla, Sister Act, Blood Brothers to Perform on Laurence Olivier Awards; Presenters Announced

News   Priscilla, Sister Act, Blood Brothers to Perform on Laurence Olivier Awards; Presenters Announced
 
The U.K's Laurence Olivier Awards, which will be presented in a ceremony at London's Grosvenor House Hotel March 21, will feature a host of celebrity presenters, and live entertainment from several current West End shows.
Jude Law
Jude Law Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Presenters on the night will include Jude Law, Kim Catrall, Rosamund Pike, Tamsin Greig, Rupert Friend, David Essex, Arlene Philips, Jill Halfpenny, Adam Cooper, Elaine Paige, Russell Watson, Duncan James, James Earl Jones, Larry Lamb and Barbara Windsor. There will be seven performances on the night including appearances by the divas from Priscilla, Queen of the Desert - The Musical; the nuns from Sister Act, including Olivier Award nominee Patina Miller, in all their habits and nominee Melanie C singing "Easy Terms" from Blood Brothers. In what is described in press materials as the biggest-ever performance at the awards, a cast of 53 performers, drawn from both the London and touring casts of Les Miserables, will perform together for the first time, including Gareth Gates as Marius.

The awards will be streamed live online from the Grosvenor House Hotel via www.olivierawards.co.uk from 6:30 PM Greenwich Mean Time, or 1:30 PM EST. In addition, they will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 2 in a special two-hour program, airing 8 PM-10 PM GMT, or 3 PM-5 PM EST, that can also be heard online on www.bbc.co.uk/radio2.

Full results of the awards will appear here on Playbill.com once the ceremony is over on Sunday evening.

Today’s Most Popular News: