Rupert Goold's "Macbeth," "The Good Wife" and "Temple Grandin" Among Peabody Award Winners

News   Rupert Goold's "Macbeth," "The Good Wife" and "Temple Grandin" Among Peabody Award Winners
The 70th Annual Peabody Award winners were announced March 31 by the University of Georgia's Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication. The 39 recipients were chosen by the Peabody board as the best in electronic media for the year of 2010.

Among the winners are Rupert Goold's "Great Performances: Macbeth,"  which stars Patrick Stewart in his Tony-nominated performance; the CBS drama "The Good Wife,"  which features theatre, film and television actress Julianna Margulies; and  the HBO film "Temple Grandin," which stars Pygmalion's Claire Danes. "For seventy years the Peabody Award has defined excellence in electronic media," said Horace Newcomb, director of the Peabody Awards, in a statement. "We challenge media makers and distributors to reach higher, try harder and be ever mindful of their central role in public life."

Other winners included Spike Lee's documentary about New Orleans' recovery five years after Hurricane Katrina, If God Is Willing and da Creek Don't Rise; Martin Scorcese's Elia Kazan: a Letter to Elia; and the documentary Wonders of the Solar System with Brian Cox that gives a simulated tour of our celestial neighborhood.

For the complete list of recipients, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!