San Francisco Symphony Announces 2005-06 Season

Classic Arts News   San Francisco Symphony Announces 2005-06 Season
The San Francisco Symphony's 2005-06 season will include a celebration of the 25th anniversary of Davies Symphony Hall, a Shostakovich festival, and semi-staged performances of Stravinsky's Oedipus Rex and Le Rossignol, the orchestra announced.

The two-week Shostakovich festival, marking the composer's centenary, will be led by cellist and conductor Mstislav Rostropovich, a close associate of Shostakovich; soloists include pianist Yefim Bronfman. The orchestra will also pay tribute to Mozart on the 250th anniversary of his birth with a series of programs over the course of the season.

The celebration of Davies Symphony Hall will include a free concert for longtime subscribers, donors, and volunteers; an open house; and other special events.

Oedipus Rex and Le Rossignol, paired on a program on early December, will be conducted by music director Michael Tilson Thomas and feature tenor Anthony Dean Griffey, mezzo-soprano Michelle De Young, and tenor Paul Groves.

Other highlights include the American premieres of Hindemith's Piano Concert for the Left Hand, with Leon Fleisher as soloist; John Pickard's The Flight of Icarus; and Wolfgang Rihn's Verwandlung.

Guest conductors include Vladimir Ashkenazy, Mikko Franck, Oliver Knussen, Kurt Masur, and David Robertson; among the visiting soloists on the schedule are Joshua Bell, Sarah Cgang, Richard Goode, Gidon Kremer, Lang Lang, Yo-Yo Ma, Lorraine Hunt Lieberson, Midori, Peter Serkin, Gil Shaham, and Jean-Yves Thibaudet.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!