Susan Stroman Will Receive 2018 Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre

Awards   Susan Stroman Will Receive 2018 Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre
The York Theatre Company will honor the five-time Tony winner at a gala in November.
Susan Stroman Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The York Theatre Company will honor five-time Tony-winning director-choreographer Susan Stroman with the 2018 Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre this fall. The award will be presented at the 27th Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala November 12 in Manhattan.

York Associate Artistic Director Michael Unger will direct the evening’s celebration. Performers will be announced at a later date.

Stroman has been honored with Olivier, Drama Desk, Outer Critics Circle, Lucille Lortel, and a record five Astaire Awards (recently renamed the Chita Rivera Awards). She is the recipient of the George Abbott Award for Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater and a member of the Theater Hall of Fame in New York City.

Her Broadway credits include The Producers (winner of a record-breaking 12 Tony Awards), The Scottsboro Boys (nominated for 12 Tony Awards and the winner of the London Evening Standard Award for Best Musical), the recent Prince of Broadway, Contact, Bullets Over Broadway, Big Fish, Crazy For You, Show Boat, Oklahoma!, The Frogs, The Music Man, Thou Shalt Not, Steel Pier, Big, and Picnic.

Off-Broadway credits include the current production of The Beast in the Jungle, plus Dot, Flora The Red Menace, and The Scottsboro Boys (all at The Vineyard Theatre), And the World Goes ‘Round, Happiness, and The Last Two People on Earth: An Apocalyptic Vaudeville.


“It seems highly appropriate—and high time—that we honor Susan Stroman with this year’s Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Musical Theatre,” stated York Producing Artistic Director James Morgan. “Adding it to her impressive list of accolades just seems to make perfect sense. We are delighted to welcome her to The York’s family with the 27th OH Award and look forward to celebrating her—and her extraordinary career—in high style."

Past recipients of the Oscar Hammerstein Award include Stephen Sondheim, Betty Comden and Adolph Green, Harold Prince, Cy Coleman, Charles Strouse, Arthur Laurents, Jerry Herman, Stephen Schwartz, Peter Stone, David Merrick, John Kander and Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Cameron Mackintosh, Carol Channing, Tony Walton, Joseph Stein, George S. Irving, Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick, Thomas Meehan, Barbara Cook, Paul Gemignani, Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, Angela Lansbury, Joel Grey, and, most recently, Harvey Schmidt and Tom Jones.

For additional information, pricing and reservations, contact Director of Development Shana Farr at (212) 935-5824, ext. 214 or

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!