Suzan-Lori Parks and Lucas Hnath Awarded Windham-Campbell Prizes From Yale

Industry News   Suzan-Lori Parks and Lucas Hnath Awarded Windham-Campbell Prizes From Yale
The playwrights will receive $165,000 each to support their writing.
Suzan-Lori Parks Dan Walters

Yale University has awarded playwrights Suzan-Lori Parks (In the Blood, Fucking A) and Lucas Hnath (A Doll’s House, Part 2; The Christians) the Windham-Campbell Prizes for drama. They are each the recipients of $165,000.

Lucas Hnath Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The Windham-Campbell Prizes were established in 2013 by novelist Donald Windham in memory of his partner, Sandy M. Campbell. The mission of the the prize is to call attention to literary achievement and provide writers working in English with the opportunity to focus on their work. Eight writers are awarded the prize annually in the categories of drama, nonfiction, fiction, and poetry.

“Over the past several years the Windham-Campbell Prize committee has recognized some of my favorite voices in literature,” said Tony nominee Hnath in an online statement. “I’m simply honored and humbled to be included in their company.”

The 2018 winners also included in nonfiction, Sarah Bakewell and Olivia Laing; in fiction, John Keene and Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi; and in poetry, Lorna Goodison and Cathy Park Hong.

Prize recipients are nominated confidentially and judged anonymously.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Latest News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!