Theatre Museum Awards to Feature Performances by Maddigan, Kern, Johnson, Rose and More

News   Theatre Museum Awards to Feature Performances by Maddigan, Kern, Johnson, Rose and More
The Theatre Museum's 2006 Awards for Excellence will be presented Oct. 16 at the Hudson Theatre in the Millennium Broadway Hotel.

The evening, which begins with a reception and dinner at 6 PM, will be followed by the presentation of the awards and entertainment at 7:30 PM. Those scheduled to perform include The Wedding Singer's Tina Maddigan and Kevin Kern; The Two and Only!'s Jay Johnson; The J.A.P. Chronicles' Isabel Rose; Her Song's Gabrielle Lee, Heidi Weyhmueller, Emma Zaks and Tricia Rapier; and Richard Schwartz, Jeffry Denman, Amy Dolan and Laura Schutter. Senator Elizabeth Krueger will present Fred Papert, president and founder of 42nd Street Development Corporation, with the Theatre History Preservation Award. Tony-winning director John Rando will present an award to the Drama League Directors Project for "nurturing emerging theatrical directors." The Lion King's Torya will present Dr. Lundeana Thomas with an award for excellence in Theatre Arts Education, and Jay Johnson will present an award to the Manhattan Theatre Club for its restoration of the Biltmore Theatre.

The mission of the Theatre Museum, which is dedicated to the history of theatre, is "to preserve, protect and perpetuate the legacy of theatre through innovative programming including exhibitions and presentations, collaborations, theatre arts education and the annual Theatre Museum Awards for Excellence ceremony."

The Hudson Theatre is located in the Millennium Broadway Hotel at 145 West 44th Street. For tickets call (212) 764-4112, ext. 201.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!