Tony Rulings: Poppins Score Eligible for Nomination; Les Miz and Chorus Line Directors Ineligible

News   Tony Rulings: Poppins Score Eligible for Nomination; Les Miz and Chorus Line Directors Ineligible
The Tony Awards Administration Committee assembled for the third time this season Jan. 18. The Committee discussed the eligibility of nine Broadway shows.

In the Lead Actor and Actress in a Musical categories, those actors who will be eligible for nomination include Les MisérablesAlexander Gemignani and Norm Lewis; Mary PoppinsAshley Brown and Gavin Lee; High Fidelity’s Will Chase; and Spring Awakening’s Jonathan Groff and Lea Michele.

The Apple Tree’s Marc Kudisch will be eligible for nomination in the Featured Actor in a Musical category.

Another decision concerned the score to Mary Poppins, which features songs from the classic film as well as new tunes. The score will be eligible for nomination in the Best Score field.

The New York Post also reports that the revival of A Chorus Line is ineligible for nomination in the Best Director, Best Choreography, Best Costume Design, Best Lighting Design and Best Scenic Design categories because the work is a re-creation of the original. Similarly, the Les Miz revival is ineligible for nomination for direction as well as set, costume and lighting design.

All other decisions were consistent with the opening night credits. The Administration Committee will assemble two additional times this season to discuss eligibility of shows that opened on Broadway during the 2006-2007 season.

The Tony Awards Administration Committee, according to the official Tony Award website, "is comprised of 24 members, of whom 10 are designated by the Wing, 10 by the League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists, and the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers."

As previously announced, the 61st Annual Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards — saluting the best of the Broadway theatre season — will be presented June 10, 2007, at Radio City Music Hall.

Nominations for the 2007 Tony Awards will be announced May 15, 2007. The cut-off date for eligibility for the 2006-2007 theatre season is May 9.

The Tony Awards are presented by Tony Award Productions, a joint venture of the League of American Theatres and Producers and the American Theatre Wing. Visit for more information.

<i>Mary Poppins</i>' Anthony Drewe and George Stiles.
Mary Poppins' Anthony Drewe and George Stiles. Photo by Joan Marcus
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!