Tony Winner John Logan Is the Recipient of O’Neill Center’s 2019 Monte Cristo Award

Benefits and Galas   Tony Winner John Logan Is the Recipient of O’Neill Center’s 2019 Monte Cristo Award
The Tony-winning playwright of Red and the Broadway-bound Moulin Rouge! will be honored during the theatre’s spring gala.
John Logan Roberto Araujo

Playwright and screenwriter John Logan, who won the 2010 Tony Award for Best Play for his Andrew Rothko two-hander Red, will be honored with the Eugene O’Neill Theatre’s 2019 Monte Cristo Award.

The O'Neill Center will celebrate Logan's work during an April 22 gala fundraiser in New York City.

A three-time Academy Award nominee for Gladiator, Aviator, and Hugo, Logan’s plays include I’ll Eat You Last: A Chat With Sue Mengers, as well as the book for the Sting musical The Last Ship. His new musical Superhero, a collaboration with composer-lyricist Tom Kitt, will premiere Off-Broadway at Second Stage Theatre this winter.

Logan is the also the author of the upcoming Broadway adaptation of Moulin Rouge!, which begins previews June 28 at the Hirschfeld Theatre.

“John Logan represents the finest in American storytelling. As a playwright and screenwriter, John creates singular and transformative stories that touch our common humanity. It is a particular delight to honor one of our artists this year, and one who has such broad impact on American culture,” said O’Neill Executive Director Preston Whiteway in a statement.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!