Tony-Winning Actor Named Recipient of Golden Globes' Cecil B. De Mille Award

News   Tony-Winning Actor Named Recipient of Golden Globes' Cecil B. De Mille Award
Stage and screen star Denzel Washington has been announced as the recipient of the Cecil B. De Mille Award for the 73rd Annual Golden Globe Awards.

The two-time Golden Globe Award winner will be honored at the 73rd Annual Golden Globe Awards, which will be presented Jan. 10, 2016. Hosted by Ricky Gervais, the ceremony will be broadcast live from the Beverly Hilton Hotel on NBC, beginning at 8 PM ET.

Denzel Washington
Denzel Washington Photo by Joan Marcus

In a statement Lorenzo Soria, president of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA), said, "Washington’s long and storied career is earmarked by his countless roles in front and behind the camera. It is the HFPA’s privilege to honor his contributions to the entertainment industry with the Cecil B. DeMille Award."

The Cecil B. DeMille Award is given annually to a "talented individual for outstanding contributions to the world of entertainment." The winner is chosen by the HFPA Board of Directors.

Recipients include George Clooney (2015), Woody Allen (2014), Jodie Foster (2013), Morgan Freeman, (2012), Robert De Niro (2011), Martin Scorsese (2010), Steven Spielberg (2009), Warren Beatty (2007), Anthony Hopkins (2006), Robin Williams (2005), Michael Douglas (2004), Gene Hackman (2003), Harrison Ford (2002), Al Pacino (2001) and Barbra Streisand (2000).

Washington won the 2010 Tony Award for Best Actor in a Play for his performance in the revival of Fences.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!