Wicked's Teal Wicks Records Cast Album of New Musical From Grammy Winner Mike Reid

Cast Recordings & Albums   Wicked's Teal Wicks Records Cast Album of New Musical From Grammy Winner Mike Reid
Following a summer production in New Jersey, The Ballad of Little Jo is now available for licensing from The Musical Company.
Daniel K. Isaac and Teal Wicks in <i>The Ballad of Little Jo</i> at Two River Theatre
Daniel K. Isaac and Teal Wicks in The Ballad of Little Jo at Two River Theatre T Charles Erickson

Two River Theater's production of The Ballad of Little Jo, which ran earlier this summer, has recorded an original cast album, set to release November 10.

<i>The Ballad of Little Jo</i> Album Cover
The Ballad of Little Jo Album Cover The Musical Company

The recording features Teal Wicks (Wicked, Finding Neverland), Eric William Morris (Be More Chill, Mamma Mia!), Jane Bruce (Elf, The Theory of Relativity), and Daniel K. Isaac (According to My Mother, Billions). The cast also includes Cole Burden, Brian Flores, Leenya Rideout, Christopher M. Russo, Perry Sherman, Kristin Stokes, Ian Michael Stuart, and Barbara Tirrell.

The album is available for pre-order now. Pre-orders will include an immediate download of the track "Unbuttoning the Buttons."

Based on the film of the same name by Maggie Greenwald, The Ballad of Little Jo is inspired by the real-life story of Josephine Monaghan, a young woman woman from Boston who, in the late 19th century, disguised herself as a man to start a new life in an Idaho mining town. The show features music by Grammy Award-winning songwriter Mike Reid ("I Can't Make You Love Me"), lyrics by Sarah Schlesinger, and a book by Reid, Schlesinger, and John Dias.

HR - Teal Wicks.jpg
Teal Wicks

The Ballad of Little Jo's long developmental process has included a world premiere at Steppenwolf Theatre Company in 2000, a 2003 London production at the Bridewell Theatre, and a 2008 reading at New York's Public Theater. The show is now available for licensing from The Musical Company following Two River Theatre's summer 2017 production in Red Bank, New Jersey.

The recording features orchestrations by Danny Larsen, music supervision and vocal arrangements by Patrick Vaccariello, and music direction and dance/incidental arrangements by John O'Neill. The band, led by O'Neill on piano, includes Martin Agee (violin), Troy Chang (cello), Philip Coiro (drums/percussion), Simon Hutchings (reeds), Justin Rothberg (guitar), and Joseph Wallace (bass).

Members of the cast and band will also gather at Feinstein's/54 Below November 12 at 9:30PM for an album release concert. The $35 tickets include a copy of the CD. For more information, visit 54Below.com.

The album is produced by Sean Patrick Flahaven, CEO of The Musical Company.


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Latest News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!