Yo-Yo Ma and Boston Symphony to Give World Premiere of Osvaldo Golijov's Azul

Classic Arts News   Yo-Yo Ma and Boston Symphony to Give World Premiere of Osvaldo Golijov's Azul
Next Friday night, August 4 at 8:30 pm in Tanglewood's Koussevitzky Music Shed, a team of musical superstars — cellist Yo-Yo Ma and the Boston Symphony Orchestra — give the world premiere of a new score by the celebrated composer Osvaldo Golijov.

Azul — that's Spanish for "blue" — was commissioned by the BSO for its 125th anniversary this year; according to a statement from the orchestra, the new work for cello and orchestra is meant to evoke, in a 21st-century idiom, "the majesty of certain Baroque adagios by Bach, Handel or Couperin."

On the podium will be Donald Runnicles, principal conductor of the San Francisco Opera and principal guest conductor of the Atlanta Symphony; the program also includes also leads Janšcek's Idyll for strings, Haydn's Cello Concerto in C and Elgar's "Enigma" Variations.

Prior to the concert, at 6 pm, pianist Lars Vogt and BSO members will perform a brief program of chamber music by Michael Haydn, Mozart and Dvoršk.

The following Sunday, August 6, at 2:30 pm, Runnicles and Vogt return for another full BSO concert featuring Beethoven's "Emperor" Concerto (No. 5), Mozart's "Prague" Symphony (No. 38) and an orchestral suite from Richard Strauss's opera Der Rosenkavalier.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!