Theatre Veterans Collect Top Prizes at 2009 Emmy Awards

By Adam Hetrick
20 Sep 2009

Kristin Chenoweth
Kristin Chenoweth
Photo by Andrew Southam

Kristin Chenoweth, Rob Ashford, Cherry Jones, Jessica Lange, Glenn Close and David Javerbaum were among the winners of the 61st annual Primetime Emmy Awards, which were presented Sept. 20 at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles.

“30 Rock” and “Mad Men” took top honors in the Outstanding Comedy and Drama categories, respectively.

Tony winners Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman penned the opening number for Emmy host Neil Patrick Harris, who introduced an evening that awarded numerous stage veterans for their work on the small screen.

Notable winners with stage ties include Tony-winning actress Kristin Chenoweth, who took the evening's first award, Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series, for her work on “Pushing Daisies”; Toni Collette, who won the Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series Emmy for her performance in “United States of Tara”; Alec Baldwin, whose work on “30 Rock” earned him the Emmy for Lead Actor in a Comedy Series; John Cryer, who received the Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series Emmy for “Two and a Half Men”; “Lost” actor Michael Emerson, who earned the Emmy for Supporting Actor in a Drama Series; and veteran stage actress Cherry Jones, who earned the Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series Emmy for her work as President Alison Taylor in “24."

The Emmy Award for Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series went to Ellen Burstyn for “Law & Order: “SVU”; multiple Tony winner Glenn Close was presented with the Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series Emmy for “Damages”; and Bryan Cranston earned the Emmy for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series for “Breaking Bad.”

Supporting Actor in a Miniseries Emmy was awarded to Ken Howard for “Grey Gardens”; Lead Actor in a Miniseries was given to Brenden Gleeson for “Into the Storm”; and Jessica Lange was awarded the Emmy for Lead Actress in a Miniseries for “Grey Gardens,” which also took the honor for Outstanding Made for Television Movie.

“The Daily Show with Jon Stewart,” who claims among its writers David Javerbaum, took home the Emmy for Outstanding Writing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Series, and the top honor for Outstanding Variety, Music or Comedy Series; Outstanding Music and Lyrics went to “Academy Awards” opening number writers William Ross, John Kimbrough, Dan Harmon and Rob Schrab; “Mad Men” writers Kater Gordon and Matthew Weiner earned Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series; and “30 Rock” writer Matt Hubbard earned the honor for a Comedy Series.

Additional winners include Broadway choreographer Rob Ashford, who earned the Emmy for Outstanding Choreography for the “81st Annual Academy Awards” and his “Musicals Are Back” opener; and “American Masters,” which received an Emmy for Outstanding Nonfiction Series.

Both “Grey Gardens” and “Pushing Daisies” earned Best Art Direction honors, while William Ross won the Emmy for Outstanding Musical Direction of “Streisand: The Concert." Outstanding Variety, Music or Comedy Special Emmy was awarded to “The Kennedy Center Honors”; and “Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog,” which stars Neil Patrick Harris, earned an Emmy for Outstanding Special Class - Short-format Live-Action Entertainment Program."

For a complete list of nominees and winners visit Emmyscom.